The Beauty of Collaboration

Currently I’m working on an anthology that will be entitled A Bridgetender’s View: An Anthology on Gratitude. But there’s no way I could do it alone. Anthologies are a lot more work than I realized! Many dear friends are taking part. Deborah Drake is my catalyst, my publisher, my editor, my web designer, my coordinator, and so many other things I could go on forever. Amy Sassenberg is doing the photography. Bronte Polette is creating the cover and making all the photos format friendly. Vicky Cabe Autry did the separator graphics which I’ll also be using on the website and my business cards. Amelia Torres wrote the foreword.

I just love collaborations. When you create something together, it becomes even better than the sum of its parts. It’s kind of like preferring a savory stew over a raw potato and a couple of carrots. And it’s fun because as everyone contributes ideas, it inspires even more ideas within you.

This is not the first time I’ve had the pleasure of collaborating with someone. I also create fractal art under the name Serenity Questi. (You can see some of my work here.) In the virtual world of Second Life, I met a wonderful artist who goes by the name of Treacle Darlandes, who runs the St@rt gallery, and she has for many years taken my fractals and worked her magic on them, making vases, sculptures, and art in motion among many other things. If you are familiar with navigating Second Life, you can check out her virtual gallery here.

In the meantime, here are some pictures of our collaborations. These photos don’t really do them justice without the movement and the three dimensional feel, but it will give you some idea of the amazing things that can come out of collaborating.

So relax your grip on your creativity. Let others take ownership of a portion of the final product. You’ll be amazed at the results. Give it a try!

2 thoughts on “The Beauty of Collaboration

  1. Firewalker Sands

    Pretty small world it is indeed. You and I have met in Second Life. I first met you when I wandered into Treacle’s gallery a long time ago and you two were talking in world. I love fractals and was amazed at yours.

    I was also born in Jacksonville and cross the bridges in the header picture too often. I even remember when Storycorps came to Jax to record for NPR. That means I may have crossed under your tender house myself a few times with you at work.

    Treacle and I talk often in SL sometimes daily and I told her about stumbling across your blog. We both smiled. Although I hit the net in 1990 this is my first public post. So bear with me a bit, on the web I’m a very private person. Oh and I bought a copy of your book. 🙂 tc

    1. Nice to meet you again, Firewalker! Wow, we do have a lot in common! I’m honored that this is your first public post. I look forward to hearing what you think of the book, and hope you’ll leave a review on Amazon. Give my love to Treacle when next you see her! – Serenity

Leave a Reply

