Things Get Fruitier

If you read my blog regularly, you know that about 4 months ago my dog Quagmire brought two bananas in from the fenced back yard. I wrote about it in The Great Banana Mystery. I still have no idea where those bananas came from. I try not to lose any sleep over it.

And then about 10 weeks later, he brought me a slice of watermelon. The Plot Thickens. Now I was really perplexed. Where is this stuff coming from?

So, the other night he brought me a peach. Well, technically it was a half-eaten peach. Apparently he really enjoys peaches. And he’s probably beginning to figure out that all fruit shall be confiscated, so before proudly showing me his acquisition, he had his fill. This is really starting to freak me out, because he could have choked on the peach pit.

So far these unexpected doggy treats haven’t been dangerous per se. But since I don’t know who the culprit is, I can’t be sure said culprit knows what’s good for dogs and what isn’t. What if he decides to feed Quagmire a slice of chocolate cake or a chicken bone next time? Granted, he’d die with a smile on his face, but it would still break my heart.

It’s not the first time someone has fed something to my dogs without my permission. This always annoys me. I’d never do that to someone else’s pet or child. You don’t know what their dietary requirements and/or restrictions are, and it’s arrogant to assume you have carte blanche to put something in someone else’s body without asking the guardian first.

So if you are reading this, oh mysterious purveyor of fruit, kindly keep your largesse to yourself. Quagmire won’t thank you for that, but I will.

Peach

6 thoughts on “Things Get Fruitier

  1. lyn sutton

    I actually had a dog intentionally poisoned by a neighbor who had previously threatened it. At least it seems your mysterious fruiter isn’t intentionally trying to harm. They probably think they’re offering your dogs a treat. Maybe you could put up some ‘THANKS, BUT PLEASE DON’T FEED THE DOGS’ signs. Or install video cameras?

  2. Pingback: Quagmire Lays an Egg – The View from a Drawbridge

  3. Pingback: More Puppy Produce – The View from a Drawbridge

Leave a Reply

