Merry Unbirthday

Lewis Carroll, author of Alice in Wonderland, is a controversial figure. Did he write the book while under the influence of drugs? According to this article, modern scholars seem to be of the impression that this wasn’t the case. And yet you’d be hard-pressed to overlook the drug symbolism, whether it be intentional or not. And was he a pedophile? He did like to take pictures of little girls, the composition of which raise modern eyebrows. We’ll never know for sure.

Regardless of your opinion of the man, I have to say he did get one thing right: He invented the unbirthday. After all, why should we celebrate ourselves just once a year? This concept holds great appeal to me.

So based on this delightful idea, I’ve created a tradition of my own. I have marked my calendar for the day of the year that falls exactly six months from my actual natal day, and on that occasion I celebrate me. I don’t ask for, nor do I expect, gifts or a cake or a party on that day. On the contrary, it’s more of a private, “me time” sort of thing. I pamper myself. I treat myself. I splurge on myself. I acknowledge how special I am.

I highly recommend this custom. In our fast-paced world, where we can so easily get lost in the shuffle, it’s an idea whose time has come.

a_merry_unbirthday_party_by_caelwit
A very merry unbirthday to you!
6 thoughts on “Merry Unbirthday

  1. Ah, the half birthday! Mine was a couple of days ago, though I totally spaced on it, since Mercury retrograde had its own ideas about what I should be paying attention to—in this case, the mixed print quality of the copies of my latest book that arrived that day. (Fortunately, CreateSpace are sending me replacement copies—we’ll see how that goes…)

    And I actually have yet to read Alice in Wonderland (or Through the Looking Glass), but I did finally buy a copy a few months back, so it’s in my to-read pile…

Leave a Reply

