Sightseeing in the Fog

I’ve been vacationing on the Oregon coast. I’d never been to Oregon before. It’s gorgeous. I could totally see myself retiring here, if retirement weren’t some distant fantasy for me. And if I hadn’t seen so many Donald Trump yard signs.

My first two days were sunny and clear. Not a cloud in the sky. You could see for miles. I had no idea how spoiled I was.

After that, the fog rolled in. But that was okay, because I’d written a few “lazy days” into my itinerary. Days to just cave up and read books, write blogs, nap… that sort of thing.

I spent one foggy day luxuriating in my own company and cuddling with my dogs. Something about this place made me sleep that good kind of sleep that causes you to wake up feeling refreshed and renewed. It’s been a while.

The next several days, it was pouring rain. I had to do some of my sightseeing anyway, because I only had so much time left. I saw glimpses of a lighthouse through the fog. (Which made me all the more glad it was there.) I listened to waves crashing up on the rocks. I stood inside a cave as the rain fell.

At first, I was irritated that I couldn’t see through the fog. I spent a great deal of time annoyed that I was missing out. Silly me.

This is the Oregon coast. This experience is the Oregon coast. I saw exactly what I was supposed to see.

And it was beautiful.

 

Portable gratitude. Inspiring pictures. Claim your copy of my first collection of favorite posts! http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

6 thoughts on “Sightseeing in the Fog

  1. Ok this is funny, I just finished cycling the Oregon Coast from Astoria to Ca. I love the coast! Agreed too many trump signs, but there is no better place to be. Rain, sun, fog or storm, I could spend days just sitting and watching the waves. Saw the same lighthouse! Haceta Head

  2. lyn sutton

    Fog is just a low hanging cloud. You were walking with the clouds and seeing beauty from a different perspective.

    My son lives in Oregon and you’d never find a Donald Trump sign anywhere near his home. He loves the diversity in Oregon as long as he steers clear of certain areas. You’d fit right in his world.

  3. Melvin Collins

    I went to India during the Monsoon, people asked, “Why do you want to go during the Monsoon?” “Because it’s the Monsoon” was my reply! The Indians love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

