I Dream of Voodoo Doughnuts

When I was planning my trip to Oregon, I asked local friends for suggestions as to what to do while there. Several of them said “Voodoo Doughnuts!” Well, the name alone intrigued me, and since I’d be passing through Portland, it found its way into my itinerary.

I went to their website to get their address, and even the website is cool. There’s definitely a funky vibe to this place, and I can see why it stands out from other doughnut shops. I love a company with a sense of humor and style.

And looking at their doughnut selection made me laugh even as my mouth began to water. (That’s definitely some voodoo.) They use some unexpected ingredients, like tang and bacon and M & M’s and fruit loops, albeit not all on the same doughnut. They have one called the Maple Blazer Blunt doughnut, which looks like a huge burning doobie.

Without even having stepped foot on the premises, I’d already decided that this place was awesome. And it’s open 24 hours. Who can beat that? So off I went to Voodoo Doughnuts.

Sadly, it was not meant to be. First of all, parking in downtown Portland is every bit the nightmare that it is in downtown Seattle. Next, as I drove past the place, at 2 o’clock on a Tuesday afternoon, the line was wrapped around the block. And I had a howling dog in the car.

So with a heavy heart, I had to leave my voodoo desires behind. But I vow that one day I’ll be chowing down on a doughnut doobie. Ooh! And another one with chocolate frosting, rice krispies and peanut butter. Yes, please! Even if I have to do a special road trip that puts me there at 3 a.m. when the lines are shorter, I’ll be there.

Currently, Voodoo Doughnuts are only in Portland, Eugene, Denver, Austin, and of all places, Taipei. I can’t imagine why they haven’t made it to Seattle. They’d fit right in! I’d buy stock in that.

voodoo-doughnuts

Check this out, y’all. I wrote a book! http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

6 thoughts on “I Dream of Voodoo Doughnuts

  1. On Wednesday, October 5, 2016, The View from a Drawbridge wrote:

    > The View from a Drawbridge posted: “When I was planning my trip to Oregon, > I asked local friends for suggestions as to what to do while there. Several > of them said “Voodoo Doughnuts!” Well, the name alone intrigued me, and > since I’d be passing through Portland, it found its way into my itin” >

Leave a Reply

