The Ads You See Aren’t Me

Recently a friend asked me if I have any control over the types of ads that are placed on this blog. Aside from the shameless plug of my book that I place at the bottom of each entry, the answer is a resounding no. But I was curious as to why she asked.

“Because I’m looking at an ad for Donald Trump.”

“What??? Noooooooooooooo!”

I don’t dispute WordPress’ right to place ads in this forum. They have to keep the lights on somehow, and they’ve not received a single penny from me. That’s a pretty good deal, considering they’re hosting this blog, to the tune of nearly 1500 pages to date.

But over the years this blog has become my heart and soul. I like to think it’s me on a screen. Warts and all. And while I have many warts indeed, none of them look as bad as Donald Trump.

It absolutely KILLS me to think that someone might be seeing one of his ads on my page and assuming that I endorse this man in any way, shape or form.

Am I selling out? Unfortunately, free is all I can afford right now. That means I pretty much have to take what I’m given. So I have to content myself with this blog entry of protest and beg your forgiveness.

I don’t even see the ads that pop up for you. I’d be curious to know what types of ads you are seeing. Please let me know in the comment section!

advertisement

Like this blog? Then you’ll LOVE this book! http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

6 thoughts on “The Ads You See Aren’t Me

  1. I have three different ad blockers running, so I don’t see any ads. Just the usual “more in The View from a Drawbridge” and “more on wordpress.com” stuff.

  2. Seattle Park Lover

    I use the free option for mine also. I’ve often wondered what ads pop up and how often since we don’t see them. The good news is that ads don’t load every time someone visits a page. (I didn’t get any this time for this post.) So even the free WordPress sites aren’t nearly as bad as pretty much every other site on the web these days.

  3. “Scalawags Whitefish and Chips” Fall colors are at PEAK in Mackinaw…. I’ve never eaten Scalawags fish and chips, however I now fresh Whitefish from the Great Lakes is awesome so I think you’re good with this one!

Leave a Reply

