Doing the Right Thing

It happened again the other day. Someone saw me crossing my bridge on the elevated catwalk and called 911, thinking I was a jumper. This always amuses me. Do I look that miserable going to work? Because I’m not. I happen to love my job. But in order to avoid disrupting the traffic while going from my car to the tower (safety first!), I have to take what probably looks like a precarious route from the public’s perspective.

When the 911 operators get a report of this type during our regular shift change, they know to call us first and check. And I always hear all of them laughing when we confirm that it was a false alarm. They are as used to it as we are.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m glad when someone makes that call. You can never be sure. Perhaps it is someone who is planning to do the worst, rather than someone who is just trying to make a living, and that would be tragic beyond words. It’s a good citizen who cares that much about a total stranger.

In the same way, it always amuses me when a cashier apologizes for having to ask for my ID when I use a credit card. I WANT them to care about identity theft! I’m glad that if someone tried to use my card without permission, the buck would stop there, so to speak. Having to whip out my driver’s license is a minor inconvenience compared to having my credit card stolen.

And despite popular sentiment, I don’t mind going through a metal detector. It puts my mind at ease that everyone else around me has done the same thing. It’s the not-so-random searches and the confiscation of nail clippers that bug me.

On the rare occasion in my life when I’ve had to call the police regarding a neighbor’s domestic violence, the perpetrator of this violence never appreciates it, but I suspect that deep down, the victim does. If I ever found myself on the receiving end of a fist, I certainly hope my neighbors would step up in that manner.

So go ahead, folks. Make that call. Ask those awkward questions. Take precautions. It’s better to err on the side of caution. Thanks for caring!

catwalk

Start a gratitude practice today. Read my book. http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

4 thoughts on “Doing the Right Thing

  1. Sam Ramirez

    I know now that it was done to assure public safety….BUT…When I was in my 20’s, cashiers would ask me for my I.D. when I was buying alcohol. I remember feeling offended because I was already over 21 at the time and felt “mature”, Seeing that I was embarrassed, the cashiers would say something like ….”When you’re 40 and still look young enough to be carded, you’ll love it.” Now, they card me at Target when I buy cough medicine! Perhaps they’re convinced I’m planning to do something illegal with a cherry-flavored bottle of Robitussin. Even today, some stores in NYC card EVERYONE (no matter their age) when they buy alcohol. Dear cashiers……it’s okay to card me. You’re prediction came true. I’m flattered to be asked now. Oh, to be 21 again!!

Leave a Reply

