The Safety Pin Movement

When I posted the following image on my Facebook page and announced that I’d be wearing the safety pin for the next four years, one person responded, “You can’t be serious! This is so childish.”

safetypin

That really confused me. I don’t consider this a political act. I don’t understand how wanting to give people comfort is offensive. How can anyone be opposed to inclusion and safety? In what way is this gesture anything less than supportive?

As a matter of fact, since so many Trump supporters say they voted for him in spite of, not because of, his hatred and racism, wearing the safety pin would reinforce that message. It would be wonderful to see safety pins wherever I go.

So many people are scared to death right now. I include myself in that number. For the most part, I feel really helpless in terms of trying to turn that trend around. Wearing a safety pin seems like the very, very least I can do. I’d welcome other suggestions below.

Start a gratitude practice today. Read my book. http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

 

5 thoughts on “The Safety Pin Movement

  1. Angiportus

    Speaking up with your mouth and your computer, as well as your safety pin, is a good start. Your acquaintance should shut the @#$% up. “Childish” is sometimes just a descriptor tossed in for “something I’m not smart enough to understand so I need to dump on it.” I knew there was a reason I’m afacebookual and illtwitterate.
    Of course, just wearing one as a token gesture isn’t going to save anything. But thinking, like you have, leads you to the aforementioned good start. And me too–I’m wearing one as well.
    There is a real neat blog called “Captain Awkward” full of good advice, for speaking up about this and other things, and I very much recommend it. [I’m not good with links but you can Google it.]

    1. Thank you! I’ll check it out. You’re right, that just wearing one isn’t going to save anything, but I will stand up and speak out if I see an injustice. And maybe seeing these safety pin “islands” floating around in society gives slight comfort that there’s a place to land when you find yourself in a storm-tossed sea. At least I hope so.

  2. Pingback: On the Cutting Edge. Not. – The View from a Drawbridge

Leave a Reply

