“Be safe going home.”

Have you ever had a conversation that caused you to look at things in a whole new way? I had one of those recently. I was having a delightful chat with a guy about fun things to do in Seattle. I’d never met him before, but he gave me lots of good ideas.

Then, at the end of the conversation, he said, “Be safe going home.”

Since we had briefly touched on politics, I said, “It’s hard to feel safe these days.”

And his response was, “Welcome to my world.”

You see, he’s African American, and yeah, he probably never feels quite safe going home or going anywhere else, for that matter. Never. And just like that, I lifted my head up out of the cloud of delusion I’ve had the privilege of residing in my whole life long.

This awful, unsettled feeling I’ve had for the past couple weeks is his status quo. This feeling of being misunderstood by just about everybody, of being actively disliked? He has lived that every day. The certainty that most people really don’t have your best interests at heart and are in fact actively working against those interests is a new and horrible feeling for me, but that’s his normal.

And I have to say, this sucks. That, and I’m ashamed of how spoiled I’ve always been. If nothing else good comes from the Trump presidency, at least I can say that my eyes have been opened. And my life will never be quite the same.

Everyone has the right to be safe going home. Everyone has the right, but many of us don’t have the luxury.

girl-on-tracks

Claim your copy of my book. It’s all about appreciating what you have. http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

2 thoughts on ““Be safe going home.”

  1. lyn sutton

    As females, targeted because of our gender, we know what it’s like to feel unsafe. How often in our daily lives do we automatically take precautions to protect ourselves in instances that few men ever have to? Many of us don’t feel safe in our homes let alone going home. It’s a fear shared regardless of ethnicity. Is it because it’s shared across a majority rather than a minority that many find it an acceptable way of life? Does this explain how women could look the other way and vote for a man guilty of such discrimination? https://www.theguardian.com/society/2016/nov/27/moroccan-state-tv-shows-women-how-to-hide-domestic-violence Nice to see some of us are still outraged.

Leave a Reply

