On the Cutting Edge. Not.

I don’t know about you, but I’m always coming up with these brilliant ideas. Unfortunately I tend to do so only after they’ve already become a thing. Just last night I woke up out of a sound sleep with an excellent one.

As you may have read, I’m a great proponent of the safety pin movement. I love the idea of making people feel safe and included and, well, welcome. I don’t view this as a political act. I just think of it as the decent thing to do for my fellow humans. But I sometimes forget to transfer my safety pin from one shirt to another. And in this season of layers, I also had to put one on each of my coats.

So anyway, my big inspiration is that I need a safety pin decal to put on my car! Yes! That wouldn’t be hard to make. I got all excited. I could sell them for next to nothing and spread love and diversity. (But it also wouldn’t hurt my feelings to make a tiny bit of profit.) I found the perfect non-copyrighted graphic, and I was good to go.

Fortunately, before I got too far along in the process, something told me to Google “safety pin bumper sticker”. And sure enough, they’re already out there. In fact, there are quite a few to choose from. So I ordered one, and it will be gracing the back window of my car in no time. Which is great.

But still…sigh. So much for going down in history as the safety pin bumper sticker queen of the world.

safety-pin

Leave a Reply

