Godzilla in the Amygdala

 Unless you are an unfeeling psychopath, you are occasionally going to experience that slightly creepy feeling that something just isn’t right. It’s a part of the human condition. It’s that moment when the hairs on the back of your neck are giving you your marching orders. You might not even be able to figure out why you’re feeling this way. All you know is that it’s time to go on the defense.

Perhaps it was a bad idea to walk down this particular alley at midnight. (It usually is.) Maybe that person is behaving unpredictably. It could be that you’re just tired, or you’re experiencing a reduced level of control. Or that strange drawing is giving you the willies. And it was probably not the best idea to watch Psycho all alone in that shabby little motel, just before it was time to take a shower.

Sometimes we actively seek out that eerie feeling. It can be fun. But it’s those times when it sneaks up on you that are the worst. There’s nothing more unsettling than an unscheduled visit to Uncanny Valley. For whatever reason, your body has decided that you are being chased by a saber-toothed tiger. Run!

 Oddly enough, I haven’t felt that way in a while. It’s almost as if my receptors have burned out. My own personal mental Godzilla seems to be on vacation.

The only plausible reason for this that I can come up with is that we’ve been force-fed fear for well over a year now. Political fear. Environmental fear. Financial fear. Insecurity. Unpredictability. Terrorism, real or imagined.

I guess even Godzilla needs down time. Maybe he’s renting a nice cabin in the Berkshires. At the very least, he seems to be someplace without skyscrapers or the need for rampages. I hope he’s having a good time. I can’t say that I miss him, but I probably do need him.

(Thanks, Jen, for coming up with this great title for me!)

godzilla

Like this blog? Then you’ll LOVE this book! http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

6 thoughts on “Godzilla in the Amygdala

  1. Sam Ramirez

    Wow Barb. I thought I was the only one that had those feelings. We do live in a very unpredictable, unsettled time. With a frightening President elect about to take office and the security of our country in question, it is no wonder that fear has set into the hearts of many Americans. I’m especially worried about my health care because it looks like our new Congress will be causing us a lot of trouble. Lately I have been having a lot of nightmares about people judging me, criticizing me, and questioning my motives. When I wake up in the morning, I realize that this is the type of world we’re living in right now. Very disturbing to think that what’s going on in Washington is starting affect to my private, daily life. Like you said at the beginning of your blog, it seems like “something just isn’t right” in our world and society today.

  2. Angiportus

    I just woke up from a dream about bombs falling in the distance. Nothing but clouds of smoke and so on,but still scary. At times I have admitted to someone I know that I am unnerved by the news, only to find that they are just as scared as I am. Either that, or they totally have their heads in…the sand.
    When it comes to the society I am in, something has been very wrong for a long time. The eerie sense you mention at the beginning doesn’t even enter the picture, although I am familiar with that too.

Leave a Reply

