I Just Can’t

For the first time in my life, I will not be watching an American Presidential Inauguration. I’ve always watched them, even when the incoming president wasn’t the person I voted for. I watched them even when I wasn’t old enough to vote. It has always amazed me that this country, since its very founding, has managed a peaceful transfer of power. Every time. That’s pretty freakin’ impressive.

But this one is different. Not only is Trump entering the office with the lowest approval rating and the lowest percentage of American votes in history, but he is the most disrespectful, hate-filled, emotionally unhinged and destructive person ever to hold this office. And I’m terrified.

Part of me thinks I should bear witness. This is history, after all. But the other part of me feels like I need to preserve my sanity and gather my strength for the many battles that lie ahead.

I have to say that I haven’t felt this sick to my stomach since I saw the bodies falling out of the towers on 9/11. And just like back then, I feel utterly helpless and I can’t help but think that the world will never be the same.

So just for today I will avoid the internet and the radio. I’ll take a complete media break. I’ll lift my tear-streaked face up again on Saturday.

Be gentle with yourself, dear readers. Don’t forget to breathe. Live to fight another day.

56th Armed Forces Inaugural Committee

Portable gratitude. Inspiring pictures. Claim your copy of my first collection of favorite posts! http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

10 thoughts on “I Just Can’t

  1. Sam Ramirez

    I agree Barb. This definitely will be a day that will live in infamy. I have a feeling that the people that voted for Donald Trump will regret it in a few months.

  2. Elaine

    I will be in SL today, doing some needed maintenance on my inventory… alone where I cannot accidentally see or hear anything about the occurance today. Also, the weather for D.C. Is not going to be the best. The heavens will rain down hopefully reducing the number of people who will attend even more. Tsk. Less audience.

  3. Insomnia for the win! I was not planning to watch anyway, but I had trouble getting to sleep last night (I’m thinking it was the Diet Coke I had with lunch—I rarely drink the stuff anymore), so after the cat got me up for breakfast, I dozed off while catching up with last night’s TV—and slept through the whole thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

