Hive Mind

I don’t know about you, but I’m tired. I’m tired of thinking. I’m tired of trying to figure out what’s true and what’s not. I’m tired of worrying about what I can do to help fix this increasingly broken world of ours.

But the only other option is to let others do the thinking for me. Boy, is that tempting. It would be so easy to maintain a mental radio silence and just let other people handle everything. But I’m fairly certain that that trend is what got us into this mess in the first place.

Too many people have checked out. Or they’ve taken up full time residence in Facebook, the land that facts forgot. They certainly didn’t bother to vote. What could possibly go wrong? This. That’s what.

That, my friends, is called “hive mind”. Turn yourself into a drone. Just do your little job. Maintain your routine. Don’t look at the big picture. Don’t ask questions. Trust that the honey will be there when you need it.

Once you’re attuned to it, you see hive mind everywhere. It’s in paramilitary organizations, such as the police and ICE. We, as individuals, don’t have to have a moral compass when we’re just part of the hive. I’m a law abiding citizen, but it always rattles me to talk to cops. You can look into their eyes and see that they’re in the hive. Because of that, there’s no possible way for them to relate to me as an individual. And that’s scary.

The individuals who make up ICE were told not to let people off a domestic flight until they produced identification. They each knew it was wrong. But they were doing their job. And cops? Take ‘em out of the uniform, and they wouldn’t normally rough someone up, but this is a bad guy, and it’s for the greater good, right?

Lord knows hive mind is the essence of bureaucracies. When’s the last time you got a rational response out of AT&T? Employees in those places are discouraged from going off script, even when the script makes no sense whatsoever.

I hate to say it, but it’s also seen at sporting events. We good. You bad. Me Tarzan. And then we’re shocked when violence erupts. This is why I never got into sports.

Cults, of course, have hive mind down to a science. You are stripped of your individuality, deprived of information, isolated from family, and told what to think. It must feel quite liberating at first, like slipping into a nice warm bath. And then the water gets cold.

I used to lament having been born in the 60’s. It meant I was too young to participate in all the “really good” protests. My generation got to eat the fruit of all that labor without really having to work for it. Well, be careful what you wish for. Now, in my 50’s, I get to participate in activities that make my aching body wish I were 20 again.

I have to admit, though, that it feels like we are all starting to wake up. We may not like it, but you can only hit the snooze button so many times. Maybe Trump is the rock bottom we had to hit before we could rise up again.

Even toxic clouds have silver linings, it seems.

Macro Insects Bees Swarm

I’m proud to announce that my book is now available in paperback, kindle, and deluxe color edition! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

7 thoughts on “Hive Mind

  1. lyn sutton

    Latest hive activity… Many new laws proposed to regulate protest marches for safety (suppression) purposes. TSA announces new more intimate (invasive) pat down (groping). Speaking of Trump…after brief absence he’s tweeting again. Afraid drones might start thinking for themselves without his (mis) guidance?

    Is it just me or has personal technology made it easier to keep people connected to the hive mentality? So glad I’m allergic to bees.

    Resistance is exhausting so get extra rest (but sleep with one eye opened), keep hydrated (but avoid the Koolaid) and stay strong (but be gentle with self). 🙂

  2. deborahsaksimet

    Potent post. Gratitude. I find myself pondering the value of not being an easy joined of clubs, churches, etc. Reasons abound why surreal is the word of the Year for 2016. Keep true in your writing. Your observations and clarity are needed. More people need to call it like they see it with intelligent compassion.

    1. Thanks, Deb! And I’ve never been much of a joiner, either. My mother forced me into the brownies. I was too little to stick up for myself. But when she tried to make me graduate up to the Girl Scouts, I went on strike. 🙂

Leave a Reply

