My Pussy Hat

Ever since the Women’s March on Washington the day after the pussy-grabber’s inauguration, pink “pussy hats” have sort of become a thing. It’s a woman’s way of saying, “Yep. I have one. You have a problem with that?” Seeing that sea of pink hats on the Mall, the largest protest in the history of the world, made me really proud. So naturally, I had to get a hat of my own.

The problem is, I don’t knit or crochet well. So I bought one off Etsy. The woman who made mine says she has several small children at home, and therefore she can’t easily get out to protests, so she’s glad to do her part this way. Good for her. (Of course, she’s also profiting off of the movement. But still, I choose to believe it still counts.)

I was really excited when my hat arrived in the mail. And now I wear it every chance I get. I’m really surprised that you don’t see more women wearing them when they’re not attending rallies. That kind of makes me sad. It’s a statement.

Just the other day I was walking into a grocery store, proudly behatted, and a woman gave me a high five. I also get lots of compliments on it. It always makes me smile to interact with a fellow traveler.

I’m equally surprised at how many people I come across who have no idea of the significance of the hat. I mean, have you been living under a rock? Even if you don’t share my political views, I can’t imagine how you can be so out of the loop in the modern world.

I wonder what it would be like to wear this hat daily if I still lived in Jacksonville, Florida rather than Seattle, Washington. I guarantee you I wouldn’t be getting many compliments or high fives. I’d be jeered at by my old coworkers, who for the most part seem to have been covered in amber around 1950. I’d probably have things pelted at me from passing pickup trucks. Same country, different world.

I hope that some day, long after I’m gone, my grand-nephews will see a picture of me and say, “Mom, why is Aunt Barb wearing that funny hat?” And I hope my niece will reply, “Because Aunt Barb was an amazing, outspoken woman with very strong convictions. I hope your daughters grow up to be just like her.”

IMG_2258.JPG

Like this blog? Then you’ll LOVE this book! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

Leave a Reply

