A Hitch in My Giddy-Up

Yep. I’m getting old. I have slight arthritis in my hips, and some mornings it feels as though they’re not going to support my weight for a few seconds there. Rather than a morning smoker’s hack (the sound of my mother’s made me a nonsmoker for life), I have a morning hobble and groan.

I’ve also been feeling a twinge in my knee of late. As with small sounds in my car, I keep ignoring it, hoping it will go away. Fingers crossed…

And bell peppers don’t agree with me anymore. That’s a shame, because I like them. But if I eat them, I know I’ll soon regret it.

And the more grey my hair becomes, the more kinky and unmanageable it gets. It seems I did not inherit my mother’s silky, lustrous silver tresses. I’ll probably be one of those unruly, witchy women, in appearance as well as in word and deed.

But even though I miss my 19 year old body, I don’t miss the 19 year old me. If all these aches and pains are the price I have to pay for a life well lived, full of lessons and experiences, then I’ll take it. I’ll take it and come back for seconds.

pain.jpg

A book about gratitude is a gift that keeps on giving! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

8 thoughts on “A Hitch in My Giddy-Up

  1. lyn sutton

    My giddy-up got up and left never to be seen again.

    Your pictures don’t show the gray. Wait till someone asks why you don’t dye it or tells you you’re brave for not dyeing it. All I know is I earned every one of mine and omg I’ve earned a lot.

    Embracing my witchy look and the broom doubles as a cane. 🙂

      1. lyn sutton

        Why’s it okay for men to go gray yet when nature ages a woman it’s time to break out the dye and get judgemental? A truly good hairdresser shouldn’t need to resort to dye to make your hair fabulous.

  2. Sam Ramirez

    I can relate Barb. The other night I spent a great deal of time plucking gray hairs out of my head. But, I wasn’t depressed about growing old. In fact, I was laughing about it. I’m actually grateful about being 55 and still having most of my hair and teeth. When I go home for the holidays, my family asked me if I’m dying my hair. Ironically, I haven’t even bought a box of “Just For Men” hair dye yet, but I am checking out the different colors at CVS. I haven’t decided if I’m a dark, medium, or light brown. Just too many choices to worry about right now. Okay, so I’m not George Clooney who turned into a silver fox at a young age, but I guess I’m happy with who I am. Father Time knocks everyone’s door eventually.

Leave a Reply

