El Primero

I always get goose bumps when I have a brush with history. I just had one on my drawbridge. I opened for a gorgeous old yacht called El Primero. It’s not in the best shape. It needs work. But considering it was built in 1893, I think it has aged rather well.

And this isn’t just any yacht. This used to be one of only two steam yachts that plied the waters of Puget Sound for decades. It was so luxurious that 4 presidents have ridden on it: William Howard Taft, Teddy Roosevelt, Warren G. Harding and Herbert Hoover.

It has since been converted to diesel, and it has two masts that were originally put into place in case of engine failure. It sleeps 22. I think El Primero is a work of art. They don’t make ‘em like that anymore. The teak alone makes me drool. (I’m funny that way.)

And it has a suitably Pacific Northwest history. Its original owner, Chester Thorne, lost it in either a poker or a craps game 5 years after he bought it. That astounds me. Who would risk such a beauty in a game of chance? One wonders what he would have gotten had he won.

The most recent news I could find about El Primero was from 2015. The article said that it was being refurbished and was set to be a floating museum. If so, I’ll be the first in line for a ticket. I don’t know if they followed through on that or not. All I know is that I’ve had the distinct privilege to open my drawbridge for it twice in the past week.

Welcome back, El Primero! I hope to see a lot more of you. You make the world a much more beautiful place.

El Primero

I’m proud to announce that my book is now available in paperback, kindle, and deluxe color edition! Be part of history by buying one. It could be a collector’s item someday.  http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

2 thoughts on “El Primero

Leave a Reply

