Okay, Now I Can Die Happy.

I just had the most gratifying conversation with an old friend from college. He told me I had a huge impact on him, and that I made him socially conscious. Wow. Just… wow.

I had no idea. And I’m all the more honored because I know him to be a very socially conscious person. I can’t take credit, really, because I’m sure it was within him all along, but if I was the catalyst for bringing that to the surface, well, that’s gigantic.

And it surprises me because I’ve always sort of felt like a quiet background kind of person. I don’t think of myself as a mover or a shaker or an influencer (to coin a term). I stand on the periphery a lot. Somebody has to prop up the walls.

So hearing this from my dear old friend does my heart good. A long-standing item on my bucket list has been to have a positive impact on someone. That’s no small thing. I have no children of my own, so the opportunities for substantive impact on my fellow man are few and far between.

It had me thinking about the people that have had an impact on me. There have been quite a few. Have I told them? Some of them. I shouldn’t assume that the rest know. And they deserve to!

Take a moment to think about the people who have made you a better person. Reach out to them. That’s what I plan to do.

And you never know. You might just be giving them this news at a time when they really need to hear it. It’s the most delightful feeling in the world, knowing you’ve made a difference. It’s life affirming.

self-esteem

Portable gratitude. Inspiring pictures. Claim your copy of my first collection of favorite posts! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

4 thoughts on “Okay, Now I Can Die Happy.

  1. lyn sutton

    A quiet background person? Have you read your posts? They influence, inspire and motivate people to think, question and open up. That’s not you on the periphery, you’re front and center loudly proclaiming your beliefs, encouraging others to do the same. Just know that while you may not get instant feedback you are making a positive impact.

    1. Thank you. That means a lot! But you should see me when I’m not hiding in cyberspace. I’d never say these things a a party, for example. The computer gives me enough of a remove to feel confident. Not so, with the face to face.

  2. lyn sutton

    You’re hidden? Face to face, or not, we still see you… but as long a this illusion gives you courage to keep speaking your mind I won’t try and change it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

