Becoming Part of the Silence

A friend of mine recently posted this quote on her Facebook page:

In order to see birds it is necessary to become a part of the silence.
~ Robert Lynd

What a lovely sentiment. But it’s harder to do than it seems at first glance. Most of us live in a world full of noise without even realizing it. I know I block out the traffic sounds when I’m at work, and I can’t even remember the last time I took note of the hum of my refrigerator.

I can only recall experiencing total silence once. It was at Mesa Verde National Park. That complete absence of sound was really brought home to me when I saw a raven fly past. I could hear the beating of his wings. I’ll never forget that feeling of awe.

This summer, I’ll be spending several days camping with a friend in the mountains of British Columbia. I’m really looking forward to it. I suspect we’ll not only be off the grid but also off the beaten path. I look forward to gazing at the stars with no light pollution, but more than anything else, I can’t wait to be immersed in the silence. It will be like entering a warm bath on a cold, raw day.

Some people are made uncomfortable by silence. I adore it. It embraces me like an old friend. I only wish it were a little less elusive.

Silence

Like this blog? Then you’ll LOVE this book! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

8 thoughts on “Becoming Part of the Silence

  1. lyn sutton

    Please bottle that ambiance and send it my way. I need to bathe in that kind of silence for sanity. Even with headphones, listening to sounds of nature, the dissonance of humanity penetrates my peace. Yes, I have neighbors with a supersonic sound system that actually vibrates the walls and my nerves day and night. aaarrrggghhh.

Leave a Reply

