Flexibility

I’ve met a lot of very rigid people in my lifetime. I always feel kind of sorry for them. It must be exhausting to get worked up over the minutiae of life. There is plenty of significant stuff to focus on.

For example, I know someone who writes furious e-mails to superiors if someone doesn’t leave paperwork at exact right angles to their desk edges. Seriously? Is that all you have to worry about? Then you are in pretty good shape in the overall scheme of things, if you ask me.

There are two types of people. The ones who ask themselves “Why is this important?” before overreacting, and the ones who don’t. The ones who don’t tend to lead very tense, miserable lives, and they pile undue stress onto those who are unfortunate enough to fall within their circle of influence.

It is important to have some sort of scale to determine what is worthy of your rage. Someone putting the dish soap in a place you haven’t specified should not get a reaction equivalent to someone firing a mortar through your living room window. If you think otherwise, you must be operating in a realm of post traumatic stress that’s worthy of professional help.

The older I get, the less energy I seem to have for petty foolishness. I can’t be bothered. I’d much rather take a nap. The planet will continue to circle the sun without my assistance.

Here’s a rule of thumb. I can go days, weeks even, without being truly angry. If you’re someone who gets angry several times a day… well… you might want to rethink things a tiny bit. Learn to bend or you will surely break. Just sayin’.

flexibility

Focus on appreciating things, and flexibility will surely follow! Check out my book for inspiration. http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

4 thoughts on “Flexibility

  1. Brian

    Lolololol. If I declared the specified dish soap place as unimportant I would also have no appreciation for quality and that would be absurd. Every brick and every screw of this wonderful castle forms the perfect system of how I want things to be. It’s MY empire. If want the dish soap in the cupboard beneath the sink and I happen to find it elsewhere, this is an act against me personally because I personally love the system. If you’re showing lack of love for part of what I love you’re basically showing lack of love for the whole thing because it’s undivided and rooted in desire. If you don’t like the way I do things here you have but 3 choices. You can suck it up and come along for the ride, You can let it get to you and suffer the abuse, or you can leave. The second one isn’t really a choice but it does happen, and survivors of it find the highest level of wisdom

      1. Brian

        Obviously it’s a crazy way to think but without understanding the irrational feelings of ones family we will assume that they are the enemy which breeds hatred that harms oneself, my wise friend

Leave a Reply

