A Plea to Seattle Area Home Sellers

Hi everyone. I’m a 52 year old woman who has been working since I was ten years old, and will most likely work until I drop dead. I’ve always led a simple life. I’ve saved when I can, and done my best to survive. In most housing markets, I’d be able to buy two houses. One to live in, and one to rent out. Every day I drive through Seattle and see hundreds of cute little homes that ought to be within my price range, but as we all know, this area is booming.

Currently I’m renting a house just north of the city. I actually love living there, but the rent goes up, up, up every year. I foresee a time in the very near future when I won’t be able to afford to live there, or anywhere else in this part of the country for that matter.

That would break my heart. You see, I love every single thing about this area except the traffic. I love my job. I love the friends I’ve made. When I pulled up stakes in Florida almost 3 years ago, due to the unexpected death of the man I loved most in this world, and moved out here without knowing a soul, it was lonely at first. It was scary. But it turned out to be the best thing I had ever done. Now I think of this place as home.

The only way I’ll be able to survive here is if I stabilize my living expenses by buying a house. And therein lies the problem. The most I can afford is 250-300k. That eliminates 99 percent of the market right there.

I have seen a few houses. (I have a great Realtor.) They’ve actually been quite nice. But by the time the bidding war ends with the 25 other people who like it, the price has gone way, WAY beyond my means.

There have been some homes with no buyer competition. They’ve had rotting roofs, or they’ve been right on the airport flight line, or they’re sliding down a hill, or on train tracks, or in really, really scary neighborhoods. So it’s looking like I’ll either wake up in a cold sweat wondering how I can pay the mortgage on a house that’s beyond my means, or wake up in a cold sweat worrying that my roof is going to collapse or some gang is going to invade my home. None of these options sound appealing.

So, here’s my plea. If you are about to sell your home, and you don’t want to go through the frustration of having hundreds of people tramping through it, picking it apart; if you don’t want to stress out over listings and being pestered by dozens of real estate agents, if you’re willing to get a decent price but not an outrageous one, in exchange for the peace of mind that someone will love and take care of your home long after you’ve sold it, then please, please contact me. You may be my only hope.

I’ve already been preapproved for a loan. All I need is about 700 square feet, a yard for my little dog to play in, and off street parking. I want a free standing house. I have long since outgrown the desire to share a wall with a total stranger. I’m losing sleep over the idea that these few requirements may be too much to ask.

In my fantasy, I’d be living in Seattle itself, but I’ve come to realize that this is but a dream. I’d love to live in Shoreline, Mountlake Terrace, Edmonds, Lynnwood or Bothell. But even that is looking impossible. I’d therefore also be willing to go for Renton or even Kent if necessary, although that would be quite a commute to work.

Please spread the word for me. I just want a place to call home. There’s no place like home.

Thank you.

Home1

I’m proud to announce that my book is now available in paperback, kindle, and deluxe color edition! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

5 thoughts on “A Plea to Seattle Area Home Sellers

  1. Carole Lewis

    I am pulling for you with every fiber of my being. We built everything we have with the trees of the land and doing without for years and blood, sweat & tears. I cannot imagine living in a community and a house.

    I cannot imagine not having a place to call my own, and you of all the people I know deserve to have that home. I think your outreach to the public is probably your best bet. Somewhere someone may jump on it. Surely, there are some out there that think like us.

    Hugs and wishes.

  2. Pingback: Trying on Houses – The View from a Drawbridge

  3. Pingback: There Goes the Neighborhood – The View from a Drawbridge

Leave a Reply

