What to Cook When You Hate to Cook. Recipe 1: Spinach Comfort Food

In a desperate attempt to come up with something to blog about, I asked a friend for ideas. He was watching a cooking show at the time, and said I should do recipes every once in a while. It’s trendy, and it would introduce new readers to my blog.

I allowed that this was a great idea, but there’s a slight problem. I hate to cook. I’m not bad at it, mind you. I’d just much rather be doing just about anything else. If a recipe has more than about 5 ingredients, I generally can’t be bothered. Usually, I’ll make a huge batch of something or other and then eat it for days. My crock pot is my best friend.

Surely I can’t be the only one who feels this way. So I’ve decided that every once in a while I will share one of my cooking hacks with you, my fellow lazy chefs. May it give you more time for Netflix.

This first one is one of my favorites, because it’s so freakin’ easy and delicious it’s ridiculous. It’s even pretty healthy! Imagine that!

_____________________________

Spinach Comfort Food

2 Large boxes of spinach (Preferably organic, because spinach is one of the most pesticide-laden veggies in your produce aisle these days.)

1 can of stewed tomatoes.

1 can of garbanzo beans.

1 block of feta cheese.

Olive oil.

Coat the bottom of a BIG pot with olive oil, and heat it. Add as much of the spinach as you can. Stir. This takes patience, because it won’t all fit at first. As it wilts down, there will be more room. The object is to get all the spinach wilted. Sometimes I add a little more olive oil halfway through. Add the stewed tomatoes, garbanzo beans (including the liquid) and crumbled feta. Heat and stir some more until the garbanzo beans are soft.

There you have it. Simple. Filling. Tastes even better as leftovers! Enjoy!

If you have any super simple recipes you’d like to share, let me know. I’ll give you full credit.

frog chef

I’m proud to announce that my book is now available in paperback, kindle, and deluxe color edition! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

7 thoughts on “What to Cook When You Hate to Cook. Recipe 1: Spinach Comfort Food

  1. Well, you lost me at tomatoes, but I’ll be interested to see what else you’ve got. I make a great soup that, with freezing, can last about a month—but I’ve been making the same thing for four years, so I’m now tired of soup. (It tastes great while I’m cooking it, but the thought of soup again after that…)

  2. Elaine

    Do you have measurements? Like how many ounces in the package of spinach? What size can of beans? A pound of feta? It sounds like something I would really enjoy but I want to make sure I use the correct proportions to start. Then I can play. 😊

    1. You know how spinach comes in those big plastic boxes, bigger than a loaf of bread? Two of those. The cans of beans and stewed tomatoes are your average soup can size. And here, you can get feta in a block about 2 1/2 inches square, and about an inch tall. Sorry I can’t do better. Can you tell I hate to cook? 🙂 But the nice thing about this recipe is it’s very forgiving. Do whatever your heart desires. 🙂

  3. lyn sutton

    I make something like this but I’m on a low acid diet so no tomatoes. For flavor I saute in red onions (you can buy them chopped) and minced garlic (comes in a jar) and toss with high protein pasta or brown rice. Leave out the beans and it’s great in an omelet or on scrambled eggs. Stuff it in a warmed pita with some Greek yogurt and cucumbers. Want to go wild, add sauteed mushrooms (they come pre-sliced) or red bell peppers(pre-sliced) to the base recipe and top with black olives(pre-sliced), squeeze of lemon or tzatziki sauce. I like versatility when I cook otherwise I’d get bored. You can do all of this with the tomato version too and if you like eggplant… 🙂

Leave a Reply

