Idiotic Policies

I had a weird conversation the other day with Bloodworks Northwest, my local blood bank. It seems that I can’t donate next time because if I do, I’ll have given blood more than 6 times in a 12 month period.

Me: “Can’t you give blood every 8 weeks?”

Them: “Yes.”

Me: “6 x 8 is 48, and there are 52 weeks in the year, so sometimes you’re bound to be donating more than 6 times in a year.”

Them: “But you can only give 6 times a year.”

Me: “So you’re saying you don’t want my blood?”

Them: “Not until after June 22nd. Would you like to reschedule now?”

Me: “No. I’ll get around to it. Maybe. Later.”

WHAT AN IDIOTIC POLICY!!!!

This makes absolutely no sense. By doing this, they are alienating their most faithful donors. They are rejecting every 7th donation. That runs entirely counter to their mission.

I could swallow it if there was a logical reason behind it. But nothing makes me chafe more than being told, “That’s just the way it is.” There are some policies that I deal with at work like this, and they make me want to scream. Someone needs to tell the emperor he has no clothes. “Your highness, not only are you naked, but you’re also stupid.”

So, Bloodworks Northwest, if you wonder why you’ll never be seeing me again, it’s because I’m taking my blood down the road to the American Red Cross. They let you donate every 8 weeks, full stop. Just like every single solitary other donation center I’ve used my entire adult life. Sorry. That’s just the way it is.

giving blood

A book about gratitude is a gift that keeps on giving! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

2 thoughts on “Idiotic Policies

  1. Angiportus

    100%. There’s rules, and then there are rules that are just plain stupid! Feel free to circumvent them as adroitly as you can.

Leave a Reply

