Opening My Bridge for the Zodiac

Every once in a while, I have the distinct pleasure of opening my drawbridge for a true work of art. Such was the case the other day when the Schooner Zodiac passed through the Ship Canal here in Seattle.

According to her website, she is 127 feet tall, and 160 feet long. You can charter her, and believe me, I’d love to. This vessel can accommodate 49 people for day sails, and 26 people for overnight adventures. And there’s not a single square inch of her, not one, that isn’t absolutely gorgeous. Check out the website for breathtaking views of the interior, and for booking information.

This amazing vessel was built in 1924 as a private yacht for the heirs of the Johnson & Johnson pharmaceutical fortune. As I watched her pass through my bridge, I felt transported back in time. I’m proud to say that on that day, at least, I helped her ply these waters and bring her passengers safely home.

Safe journeys, Zodiac.

Schooner_Zodiac_03

Read any good books lately? Try mine! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

Leave a Reply

