The More the Merrier

Now that I’m a homeowner, I can do whatever I darned well please with my house and yard. Yay! One of the first things I did was purchase and install the insect house and bat house pictured below. Yes, I want bugs and bats. I want my yard to be a place where nature thrives.

The insect house is made to attract butterflies, solitary non-aggressive bees, ladybugs, and all manner of creatures that are beneficial to plants. It came with pine cone, bark, and bamboo. I haven’t detected any residents yet, but they say that usually picks up in the fall. There are all kinds of cute designs out there. Check ‘em out. Be a force for good.

And the bat house is something I’ve wanted for years. Contrary to popular belief, less than one percent of bats are rabid, and on average only one person a year dies from a rabid bat bite in this country. You have a better chance of being struck by lightning.

On the other hand, one bat can eat up to 1000 mosquitoes every hour, and they are also essential pollinators. And their guano makes fabulous fertilizer. Here’s a fun fact: Bats are more closely related to humans than they are to rodents. (For some reason, that kind of creeps me out.)

You can’t have a healthy ecosystem without bats. So I put up the bat house, 15 feet in the air, oriented to the Southeast for warmth and to make it easy to find in the early morning when they’re coming home after partying all night. As with the insect house, it’s not yet occupied, but I live in hope.

Those of you who read my blog regularly know that I currently have bats in my attic. This is not good. As much as I love bats, I don’t want to share a house with them. So my current bat relationship is rather fraught, as you can imagine. But I’m hoping that very soon we’ll be neighbors rather than roommates.

I firmly believe we need more diversity in this world! We can do it, one yard at a time. And I’ll continue to do my part to find creative ways to make that happen.

 

Like the way my weird mind works? Then you’ll enjoy my book! http://amzn.to/2mlPVh5

Leave a Reply

